Month: June 2005


  • F*n Nike…



    From Dischord Record’s news:
    “Many people have noticed that Nike
    has appropriated the Minor Threat artwork and logo for a new skateboard
    demo / ad campaign. To set the record straight — Nike never contacted
    Dischord nor Minor Threat to obtain permission to use this imagery, nor
    was any permission granted. Simply put, Nike stole it and we’re not
    happy about it. We are not yet sure what actions, if any, we can take
    to stop this campaign but in the meantime if you would like to direct
    your thoughts to Nike that may be a good place to start. Thanks to the
    many people who have written to Dischord express their outrage and
    support.”

    http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/news/05-06/23.shtml

    **Update**

    June 27, 2005

    To: Minor Threat, Dischord Records and fans of both

    Re: Major Threat East Coast Tour Poster

    Nike Skateboarding sincerely apologizes for the creation of a tour
    poster inspired by Minor Threat’s album cover. Despite rumors being
    circulated, Wieden & Kennedy and Odopod had nothing to do with the
    creation of this tour poster and should not be held accountable. To set
    the record straight, Nike Skateboarding’s “Major Threat” Tour poster
    was designed, executed and promoted by skateboarders, for
    skateboarders. All of Nike employees responsible for the creation of
    the tour flyer are fans of both Minor Threat and Dischord Records and
    have nothing but respect for both.

    Minor Threat’s music and iconographic album cover have been an
    inspiration to countless skateboarders since the album came out in
    1984. And for members of the Nike Skateboarding staff, this is no
    different. Because of the album’s strong imagery and because our East
    Coast tour ends in Washington, DC, we felt that it was a perfect fit.
    This was a poor judgment call and should not have been executed without
    consulting Minor Threat and Dischord Records.

    We apologize for any problems this may have caused, and want to
    make very clear that we have no relationship with the members of Minor
    Threat, Dischord Records and they have not endorsed our products.

    Every effort has been made to remove and dispose of all flyers
    (both print and digital). Again, Nike Skateboarding sincerely
    apologizes to Minor Threat and Dischord Records.

    Sincerely,

    Nike Skateboarding

    **
    Still yet, Nike is forever on my shit list.
    It should of never happened in the first place.

  • - Saturday, June 25, 2005

    got up like 9:30
    blah, no saturday morning cartoons for me, once again. One Piece was
    comeing on at 2, cause of baseball, but I couldn’t watch it cause I had
    work.
    just the usual time wasteing on the computer and xbox till I had to go to work.
    It was a good day at work, I guess. wasn’t all that great, but good enough.
    Rebuilt the crate tower with Kevin. It wasn’t as sturdy as the last
    one. but it was good enough…. and I freggin got cut on my finger when
    putting that thing up. that really hurt.
    It wasn’t really that busy at work, but busy enough.

    was doing the flamethrower action with the vandal remover and the
    lighter I found the other day. that was a good 5 minuets of a fun time
    waster.
    Jon was like, “what are you looking for”
    I told him, “the vandal remover…”
    he points to it, and is asks, “why is there something you need to clean”
    “no, I’m gonna take it out side and sniff it.”
    “ok.”
    “ok, don’t worry, I won’t be long.”
    “maybe I’ll join you… but watch out, that stuff will kill your brain cells faster than ice.”
    haha. then I went out side and had some fun with it.
    when I came back in he was like, “did you really niff it?” haha, told him no.

    And someone took down my swatzie star. darn these communists and their censorship.

    Then on my 3rd trip on the trash run, someone knocked down my crate
    tower. might have been Jon, but if it wasnt him, then I’m rebuilding it
    again.

    got 4 movie posters today. Batman, Perfect Man, Shopgirl, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith.

    no no, no no

    SOTD: To Be With You – 15 Minuets Late
    STTA: 1337 5P34K, and acronyms. j/k, lol, omg, wtf, rofl, rgr, gg, PWNZ3RD
    H/M: good/good

  • - Friday, June 24, 2005

    got up at like 9:45. and I pretty much just wasted most of the day,
    before I had to go to work, on the computer. Just wasteing time, and
    continueing my recent obsession of Indie bands.

    Work was ok. Someone moved my Star that I put up yesterday, so I guess that shows that they condone what I put on there.
    I was playing hackysack while at the podium. That was a nice time
    waster. even though I suck out loud at hackysack. All this practice I
    can get while standing podium, and maybe one day, I might be all right
    at it.
    Johnathan said he’ll rebuild the crate tower with me.
    Derek said he wants to go tipping cows with me, along with one of his friends.
    I saw Darren, Chris and Ranson at the movies today. and Steven
    Brewster, he and his friend wanted to try and see batman for free, but
    I got them kicked out instead. haha.
    and There were these two guys sleeping at the theatre. One guy was
    sleeping on top of the bench. and the other guy was on the ground,
    under the bench. People were stareing at them and takeing pictures.
    that was kind of funny.
    no no, no no

    SOTD: For Her – A True Story
    STTA: “They can mobilize, and move around, and get
    together, quicker than our traditional street gangs.” – Paul Adamson,
    Regional Gang Unit – The World Now News – LOL! hateXedge
    H/M: good/good

  • -Wednesday, June 22, 2005

    uhhhhhh, my dad is just so annoying. It’s like his goal in life is to annoy me as much as possible.
    Take him out of the picture, and I had a pretty great day today.
    Shnap, I was being such a Indie boy today, just sitting here for hours just listening to unsigned bands on Pure Volume.
    Playing some xbox.  yep. yep.
    Work at 5. That was cool. It was a fun day at work. lets see. When I
    took out the platelettes, the crates. Johnathan, came and helped me
    out. there were other crates that were all ready there, stacked up, out
    side. when we got there, I was like, “lets build a pyramid.” John’s all
    like, “right, cause we have all the time in the world to build a
    pyramid.” haha, that was good enough of an answer for me. I started
    building it, and he helped out. we leaned it up against the stop sign.
    we made two teirs of it. It was soo high. I had to lay the trashbin on
    its side to put the one on top. and then put the last one ontop of that
    and over the top of the stop sign. it was so stupidly funny. I went and
    grabed the camra out of the car and took pictures of it.
    Cleaning the theatres with John, was throwing the cups. in number 4, I
    threw one from the back top left corner, in the dark, all the way into
    the garbage can. that was like so far away, thats like the farthest you
    can throw cups. and it even hit the ceiling too.
    I gotta go try Tipping some Cows….
    Playing hackysack while I was standing at the podium, waiting utill we closed. It’s a nice time passer.
    Then afterwards while I was doing the trashrun, I was just standing at
    concession, smashing the Nacho chips, for like 10 mins. It’s like the
    new bubble wrap. cause the cips get these air bubbles in them, and its
    just fun to smash them.
    It was Alyssa and whats her name, I dont know, I’m just drawing a blank right now. it was them two
    closeing. and one of them left the popcorn in the popper. and they
    didnt even tie the garbage bag. and they even double bagged it. when I
    tried takeing it out, a screw or what ever sticking out in the popper,
    caught onto the bag and ripped a hole in it. and ya. and then popcorn
    started comeing out of there. and in trying to get that, popcorn
    spilled out of the top too. I had Mandy and alyssa get it oud. and then
    Alyssa and, uh… the other person, had to clean it up. haha. HAHAH!
    I Laugh at my Evil TroubleMaking Work Shenanigans!

    Stupid dad has to sit right behind me while I’m on the computer. so freggin annoying! Can’t do anything….

    SOTD: Awake and Lifeless – A Dozen Furies – cause that was the song that was playing when my dad finally decided leave me alone.
    STTA: “Haha… Were soo gonna get fired…” – me, as we built the crate tower.
    H/M: good/to much time on my hands = boredem = stupid things are so much fun = nice.

  • -Tuesday, June 21, 2005

    the first official day of summer. and with a full moon too…..
    “c….. tacular”, something someone told me about how their day was
    going. And I guess that could fit pretty well for a few parts of my day
    today too.
    snap, I totally forgot that the DMV in Kaneohe closed down last year. I
    wanted to go there to get the motocycle manual, so I can try to get a
    permit. Oh wellz, I guess I can try asking my dad if he can go to one
    of the DMVs in town and pick up a copy for me.
    After a let-down over there, I went to blockbuster, to see if they had
    any cheap used games worth picking up. There was none. I spent a little
    while playing some Xbox, PS2, and GameCube on the stuff they have set
    up over there. A little kid stole the xbox controller from me.
    haha. Played Mario Tennis on the GC, I thought it wasn’t as good as the
    one on N64. God of War on the PS2, yeah, that game is pretty sweet. I
    don’t know whats all the fuss about the graphics on that game, ya I
    guess it does look good for a PS2 game, but still, thats not saying
    much.
    Across the street to the mall, for more time wasteing. Why did I want
    to waste my time? because I didnt really wanna be at home, cause uh….
    I was busy being a complete idiot. One of my friend’s was just irking
    me. It’s not really her fault. It’s something I shouldn’t have a
    problem with, but I do and then I start being rude, and end up getting
    her in a not so great mood too.  awwh. anways, had to stop by the
    theatre for a bit, just to say hi, and waste time.
    and ooh, aparently GameStop is now actually selling games for the
    correct prices, and their not doing the rip off, jack the prices up 5
    bucks, any more. Props to them for finally getting it right, but still,
    That used to be my main gripe about that place. and now I can’t
    complain about that anymore. shucks.
    Went to Samgoody, and picked up The Offspring’s Greatest Hits dual
    disc. I don’t know whats up with that store but when ever I get to the
    cash register, the CD is allways cheaper, than what it says on the
    label. ex. The CD said, $20.99 on it, but it cost $14.99 at the
    register.
    I saw Herbert there, Thought I might show him how radman and his friend
    used to do it up in nd. But I didn’t, cause I wasn’t sure if they’d
    actually like chase after, yell at me, call security, ban me from their
    store, or what not. and also I wanted to buy the CD. I guess I wasn’t
    bored enough to be seeking a really cheap laugh. awwh, fake shop
    lifting, one of the stupid things right next to shopping cart
    shenannigans. But ya, I bought the CD, the day it came out, thats just
    soo Poseur!
    I pretty much just came home after that, couldn’t think of much else to waste my time with.

    I was hopeing for some 3a.m. Star / Full Moon Gazeing, but the STUPID CLOUDS WON’T HAVE IT!

    SOTD: Change – …and then I turned seven…
    STTA: “And a whole week!? No internet! I’ll melt…” – Katlyn aka
    IceBlueWolfPup aka TheIceBlueWolf aka IceBlueWolf aka Ice aka Icey aka
    UnfamiliarSoul aka Bobthemadmidget
    H/M: so-so/differant…

  • - Sunday, June 19, 2005

    father’s day, blah. my family went to the beach today, but I was only
    there for like 10 mins, cause I had work. It was nice seeing my grandpa
    again, I didnt even know he was back. uhhh… I like never know that
    stuff.

    Was watching Formula 1 this morning. but, shnap, did that race suck out
    loud, and blow like the wind, at the same time. only 6 cars were
    raceing, thanks to Michelin decideing that they’re tires wern’t safe
    for the track.

    Work was just, uhhh, blah. well, actually thats just how I was. but
    anyways… I found some Post-It Notes. I was writing random things on
    it and sticking them all over the place. Derek said people were getting
    offended from the one that I slaped on the door, so he took it down,
    cause he didnt want me to get in trouble. haha.

    SOTD: Goodbye (Im Sorry) – …and then I turned seven….
    H/M: just fine/sad, sad….

  • - Friday, June 17, 2005

    I got up at like 6:30 in the morning. I don’t know why, I could have just went back to sleep, but I didn’t.
    Then I was watching some Formula 1 racing that was on the speed channel.
    Then I wasted a bunch of time on the computer, reading like 70 strips
    of Questionable Content, and listening to music on Pure Volume.
    Went on Xbox, played some NFL2K5 with Jason. I was the Colts, he was
    the Ravens. I sucked out loud, 49-0. So then I went and played some
    Halo 2 and Amped 2.

    I had to work 5-11. would have been 2-10, but I traded with Derek,
    cause he was planing on watching Batman, but he all ready saw it 3
    times now, so he didnt go again. Nainoa and him thought it was really
    funny how I was asking people comeing out of the sisterhood of the
    traveling pants, if they cried. tonight, I think I only got 2 people to
    admit to it. Oh, and wtf, there was a box of condoms in Madagascar,
    haha, thankfully there wern’t any used ones…

    SOTD: American Pie (The Day The Music Died) – Don Mclean
    H/M: good/good

  • The PoseurXcore™ guide to Poseurdom™:

    * Wear a Studed Belt. Preferably Pink. Preferably Backwards.

    * Make a Ducktape Wallet

    * Skater Shoes, Chucks or Converse All Stars. Preferably Pink.

    * Have Something thats The Nightmare Before Christmas.

    * Watch The Nightmare Before Christmas 20+ times. Preferably at least 30 times.

    * Watch Napoleon Dynamite 10+ times. Perferably at least 20 times.
    * Watch American History X.

    * Wristbands.

    * Armbands. Preferably a Sock with holes cut in it.

    * Cut a hole in the wrist part of your Hoodie, for your thumbs to go through.

    * Listen to Good Charlotte.

    * Wear a Crooked Trucker Hat. Preferably one that says Jesus is my Homeboy, or I’m So Indie It Hurts.

    * Play HackySack.

    * Go see Lords of DogTown.

    * Go to the SkatePark, and don’t skate.

    * Get a Japanesse Car. Preferably a Honda Civic. Put the loudest, fatest, pipe you can find, on it.

    * Get a Moped.

    * Shop at Hot Topic.

    * Wear a t-shirt of a band. Preferably The Clash, or Rancid.

    * Stupid Hair Cut/Style. Preferably a mohawk or long skater length.

    * Dye your hair.

    * Emo Glasses or big ugly sunglasses.

    * Nautical Star Tattoos. Preferably on your elbows.

    * Baggy Pants

    * Basketball Jersey

    * Wear Make-Up. Like Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong, or the guys in Good Charlotte.

    * A fat bling-bling chain.

    * Peirce both ears and probably some other peircings too.

    * Watch Fuse and MTV.

    * Listen to the Alternative music Radio Station.

    This list is still a work in progress. A lot of things, that I can’t
    think of right now, still need to be added. and maybe, somethings might
    need to be removed.

  • - Saturday, June 11, 2005

    Got up at 10:05. totally forgot about Saturday Morning Cartoons. but
    that didnt really matter, cause they had baseball on, and One Peice
    wasn’t gonna be one at all. I’m not sure if its because of that, or
    because maybe the season is over.
    Wasted time on the computer and on xbox. Played some Amped 2 for the
    first time in like a couple weeks. I dressed my character like a
    freggin poseur with a T-Shirt that has the Nautical Star on the front.
    Then I changed my colors and symbol on Halo 2, so I could be the Poseur
    on there too. with the X background and the Nautical Star Symbol. Also,
    changeing my primary armor color to steal, and the seconday color white.

    Had to work. I don’t know what it is, I guess it would have to be the
    schedual of the theatre’s getting out, but yesterday and today’s shifts
    just seemed to go by faster than usual.
    On my break I was in search of some Poseur material. I got a stupid,
    over-priced, p.o.s., poseur-to-the-max, Pink Studed Belt from Spencer’s
    Gifts.
    I was in search of some pink skater shoes, but all I found was pink and
    black Addidas and Converse All-Stars. I was also looking for a
    HackySack but the ones they had at Spencer’s Gifts seemed kind of like
    it was superiorly low quality.
    Found a bag of Cough Drops in the theatre. Which is nice, since I’m still just getting over this cold that I’ve had.
    There’s a little something after the credits on the honeymooners, but I don’t think its really worth the wait to see.

    SOTD: Cashing In – Minor Threat
    STTA: “I don’t know where I put the other half of the ticket…” – some
    girl – she was all searching her pockets and everything, when all she
    did was fold the ticket in half. haha, that was a L O L moment. kablam
    in her face.
    H/M: good/wha?

  • - Friday, June 10, 2005

    Nothing much as usual. yep, pretty much doing nothing at all, between
    messing around on the computer, and playing xbox. just wasteing my time.
    Had work at 1. it was pretty busy today. Its also a holiday, Kamehameha
    Day. anyways, Mr. and Mrs. Smith is the movie everyone is watching. and
    the adventurs of Shark Boy and Lava Girl is pretty popular too.
    and other than that, I don’t have much else to say about today, it was
    all just pretty  blah. and I’m tired, I wanna go to sleep.

    SOTD: Straight To Your Face – Hatebreed
    STTA: “Cool Beans” or is it “Cool Beings”?
    H/M: good/ok